Fun in the Raining Sun

[Thursday August 21, 2014]

Spent the entire day at the Canadian National Exhibition (the CNE, the Exhibition, the Ex, etc…) I still smell cigarette smoke, no matter how hard I try to get the scent out of my nose – something that happens whenever I spend an entire day outside in downtown Toronto.

3 smiles of today:

1. Got hypnotized by The Amazing Kreskin.

I’ve watched the hypnotist shows at the CNE for the past few years, amounting to probably around 6-7 shows in total. But I’ve never actually gone on stage to try it out myself. I figured I’d give it a try today, thinking that it most likely wouldn’t work on me and I’d be asked to sit back down within a few minutes. Apparently that didn’t happen… It was one of the weirdest feelings ever; I was conscious of what was happening around me, what I was doing, what he was saying, but for some reason, I just didn’t care. The closest thing I can come to describing it is feeling like you’re asleep but you’re also awake at the same time. Strange? Absolutely. (Although definitely something to try if the opportunity presents itself.)

2. Had two lovely conversations with a security guard I met at the Ricoh Coliseum.

I have a habit of starting conversations with random strangers that I meet. I feel like this is potentially pretty annoying for those strangers that end up as my victims, but what can I say. I was at the Ricoh Coliseum at noon for the SuperDogs show, and a security guard happened to be standing pretty close to me, so I started making small talk with him. Eventually, it led to a conversation about futures, careers, and making smart decisions. I saw him again when I went for the acrobatic show in the evening, and we had another conversation about music, songwriting, and finding your passion. Thanks David for putting up with my random talking to strangers and giving me inspiring things to consider! 🙂

3. Proposal at the Ex.

As I was walking and pretty much minding my own business, the couple in front of me suddenly stopped. The guy grabbed a microphone from the tent next to him, dropped to one knee, and proposed to his girlfriend. (She said “yes”, by the way!) It was so, so sweet and I think I may have teared up a little bit. Just a little bit. ❤

Loves.

Leave a Reply

