Caffeine In My Veins

[Monday October 20, 2014 – Tuesday November 4, 2014]

I won’t bore y’all with the rhyme and reason of my absence in the past 2+ weeks, but I will say that I think our work load increases exponentially as we grow older. Sigh.

Here are the highlights of the past 2 weeks:

1. Watching a man feed pigeons.

As I was walking to the subway station after a meeting at City Hall on Saturday, I saw a man pouring two small Ziploc bags of bread crumbs onto the ground as a crowd of pigeons gathered around him. It looked so sweet, and definitely one of the simpler things that one can do in life.

2. Proud new owner of a Gold Starbucks card.

With the frequency that I go to Starbucks, it’s perhaps a surprise to some that I wasn’t born a Starbucks gold member. But finally, after remembering to use my card to pay instead of cash 30 times, I am now officially a Gold card holder. Now, to try the new Chestnut Praline Latte… 🙂

3. Christmas music.

Truthfully, I’ve been listening to Christmas songs since the end of September. Now that Halloween is over though, I think it is finally “socially acceptable” for me to be listening to Christmas songs. LeAnn Rimes has a great Christmas album that just came out (the day after Taylor Swift’s new album!), called One Christmas.

4. 1989

Unless you’ve been living under a rock lately, you’ve probably heard that Taylor Swift’s new album, 1989, came out on October 27. And it is amazing. When I’m not listening to Christmas carols (see number 3), this has been on repeat on my phone. It’s definitely different from her other albums, in that there isn’t a single Country track on it, but I still love it, despite my brief moments of doubt prior to its release. Favourites? They’re all so good, but I absolutely love Bad Blood, Clean, This Love, How You Get the Girl, Welcome to New York, Wildest Dreams and I Know Places. Also, I personally think New Romantics and Wonderland should have been on the actual record, as opposed to being bonus tracks – they’re phenomenal. ❤

5. Shad Cup.

The Shad Entrepreneurship Cup was on October 23 in Waterloo, Ontario. It was so amazing seeing people from Shad again – after spending a month non-stop with a group of people, it becomes quite weird to not see them for 3 entire months. Plus, our Program Director, Dr. Lye, came from Newfoundland (this visit we knew about), and so did our Program Manager, Tara (this was a surprise). We may not have won in theory, but we made up for it in spirit. 🙂

Loves.

Leave a Reply

