#LoveWins

[Sunday June 28, 2015]

Happy Pride!!! It’s been a busy few weeks, and another school year is officially over. I can’t believe it was exactly a year ago when I had spent the majority of the day on a plane, and at around this time, was just beginning to get settled into my room in St. John’s, Newfoundland. It seems like it was just last week when I was getting acquainted with my fellow Shads. And yet, my [best] friend is set to leave for St. John’s next Sunday, making her part of SHAD MUN 2015. It’s bittersweet to think about how quickly time passes…

Here are the highlights of the past 3 weeks:

1. Vacation

My family and I just got back on Friday (at midnight no less) from our [annual] family vacation. This year, we spent a week in Peterborough, Ottawa, Mont-Tremblant, Montreal, Kingston and Prince Edward County (majority of the time was spent in Montreal, coinciding with St-Jean Baptiste Day). As always, fun but tiring.

2. Celebrating the end of another year with friends

After everyone had had their last exam, a large group of us got together for froyo (coffee froyo for the win) and card games/Cards Against Humanity. Perhaps it wasn’t the best idea to play the latter in a Menchies where really young children could see and hear us… oh well.

3. Windsurfing

While I was procrastinating studying for exams a while back, I signed up for an introductory windsurfing lesson. I didn’t think about it too much at the time (fine, at all) and it wasn’t until the night before when I actually decided to find out what windsurfing was that I realized I had made a mistake. I went nonetheless because, well, I had already signed up. One of the two instructors actually turned out to be a guy from my school, in my grade and in a few of my classes. I was terrified, but it was surprisingly fun. I only ended up falling into the water once during the entire 2 hour lesson. (My arms and legs are still healing from the many bruises that were sustained though…)

Loves.

Leave a Reply

