The Curious Case of the Missing Writer

[Monday September 22, 2014 – Wednesday October 8, 2014]

I know, I know… Where was I? Probably procrastinating by watching “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” (yes, I’ve picked up watching that show – I can kind of feel my brain cells dying with each episode I watch, but it’s inexplicably addicting).

Here are the highlights of the past 2 weeks:

1. Day of close to 10 hours of sleep.

I really can’t remember the last time I slept for that long… It was lovely. (Although of course, I went back to my usual 5-6 hours of sleep the very next night, sadly.)

2. Biology class.

In the past 6 months or so, I’ve discovered I really love learning about living systems, particularly the human body/human anatomy (and especially the brain!). So before even starting, I had an inkling that Biology would be my favourite science. And so far, I seem to be correct. I absolutely love that class. That one class really makes my day a lot better. Not only do I love the content (currently genetics), the teacher is also phenomenal. She loves what she’s teaching, and it really shows.

3. “The Best of Me” soundtrack.

This has been on repeat since it came out. I cannot wait for the movie to come out (October 17!!!) (The entire soundtrack can be listened to here, at the bottom of the article)

4. “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” by LeAnn Rimes.

This is such a cute song of itself, and I love this new version of it!

5. Vice President of DECA.

Guess who’s the new VP of DECA at their school? Yours truly. 🙂

6. Conversation with a random grade 9 on the stairs.

As I was walking down the stairs to go for lunch, a grade 9 student that happened to be going down the stairs at the same time as me, just randomly said “hi” to me, followed by “how are you?” It was slightly weird, but also adorable at the same time. Definitely brightened up my day.

7. Talking with my eighth grade teachers.

As I was walking past [one of] my middle schools, I made a spur of the moment decision to go in and visit. It’s so weird going back, after quite a few years… I’ve visited over the past few years since I left it, but I still have the same feeling of nostalgia every single time. It was great talking with my French teacher (who’s expecting her first baby in December!), math and science teacher (who has such an amazing personality, and never fails to make me laugh), guidance counselor (thank you so much for all your guidance and support, Ms. Racko), and the former librarian [who is now an English teacher] (thank you for reading my writing when it really wasn’t all that great, Mr. Richardson).

8. Amazing TTC subway employee.

I think anyone that has lived in Toronto for a few years has their fair share of TTC (that’s our public transportation system) stories, both good and bad, both of employees and riders. This Monday, I was running towards the subway as it was closing its doors. I wasn’t quite able to make it, and the doors were almost closed when I got near enough. However, I happened to be right next to one of the employees that is in charge of the doors (I’m not sure what their title is, but for any fellow Torontonians, the people that stick their head out the window of the subway as the train is in the station). He was kind enough to open the doors again for me, and let me in. Thank you so much, [mysterious/unknown] TTC employee.

Loves.

Leave a comment